Being thankful for the gift of motherhood

But a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised. Give her the product of her hands, and let her works praise her in the gates.

– Proverbs 31: 30-31

As mothers we live busy lives sometimes we forget to stop and look for what God has set before us. For some of us including myself we work all day and we just wanted to come home and relax. We know there is housework and mouse to feed but we know that our job is never done. For me I tend to give up and my husband picked up the slack. He’s good at keeping me and our son fed when I don’t feel like cooking. He also cleans up the dishes and puts our son to bed. You can call him the modern-day mr. Mom.

I’m starting to realize I am lazy in my motherly duties. I can see it when my son seeks attention when my husband is away for work. When I’m reading The Mission of Motherhood by Sally Clarkson, I noticed my mommy values are more modern than I hope for . 

Children automatically turn towards their mothers as a first source of protection, love, and spiritual, emotional, and mental support.

-Sally Clarkson 

Learning how to notice the nature of a mother should be easy. Right? I do offer all the things the Mrs. Clarkson says. <quote above> My husband has been gone for work this past week and I have seen my son miss him so much. I am thankful that they have a strong father-son bond. It brings me joy seeing them interact with each other. Our son loves to imatate when my husband makes a funny noise. Which is  hilarious!

I am also thankful  for not raising my son alone. I give props to single mothers. I am not sure how you do it. The sacrifice  you do for your children. So that you know you are a blessing to your kids. They might not say thank you but, they do see how hard you work to provide for them.

The way you raise your children is up to you. Being thankful for you lifestyle choices on how you raise you children is important. For me and my husband we chose to raise our son with Christ fill home. When our son was a newborn we would be the Bible to him. Now we just do Bible stories that have pictures. The point I trying to get across and believe mothers are called to be mothers and raise our children according to God’s word. It is not easy but it is rewarding!

There is so much to be thankful for this thanksgiving. The sweet kisses my son gives to the unexpected blessing that God had provide for our family. 

I hope you slow down this thanksgiving and think about the things that you have been blessed with weather good or bad. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

